Remembering Simplicity: Lentil Soup

Something that my parents often made on the weekends was a simple lentil soup. I worked this out one Friday evening when I had kind of messed up my meal plan and needed a simple and satisfying dinner for one. When my parents made this, they would make a large pot of it to be enjoyed over the weekend and maybe even for a weekday lunch. The amounts in the recipe below are enough for one person.
LentilSoup
One item to note, the lentils I often use are a blend of several different kinds. This means that some of them cook faster than others. Whatever lentils you decide to use remember that different kinds have different cooking times and you’ll need to plan for the longest if using a mix.

 

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup mixed lentils
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp bouillon powder
  • 1 tablespoon garam masala
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • ¼ cup diced tomato
  • 1-2 green onions, sliced
  • Optional – lemon wedge to squeeze over soup just before eating, fresh cilantro or parsley

Rinse lentils. Put in small pot with water and bring to a boil for 5 minutes. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 20-30 minutes until lentils are tender (again, this will depend on what kinds of lentils you are using). While lentils are simmering, add garam masala, bouillon powder, and garlic.

While lentils are simmering, dice tomato and green onion. This will be added raw on top of the hot soup.

The day I wrote this up I ate it with some lavash bread that my father had given me. This week I’m eating a similar soup with some delicious tortillas seasoned with green chiles.

Leave a Reply

