Cook a Little, Eat a Lot – Here’s how it went

This summer I’ve been pretty heavy on meal planning and sometimes prep for the week because I’m in the final push to complete a large project. Recently I’ve been trying to cook only once or twice a week but still maintain some variety. One of the ways I did that this past week is by making myself a kind of buffet of ingredients for meal-in-a-bowl style eats. I did this by making several servings of a carb base (baby potatoes, pasta, rice…), prepping vegetables by cooking some and chopping the others, as well as making up 3-4 dressings. This turned out really good, and I never felt like I was eating the same things all week because I had so much to choose from. Any suggestions for next week’s meals? 🙂

Although I had grander intentions for variety, here is what I ended up with:

 Bases:

  • bowtie pasta
  • adorable baby red potatoes
  • tortillas (these accidentally snuck in)
  • a packet of spicy grain and quinoa from Uncle Ben’s microwave rice (I know. Rice is easy to make. But I was hungry right then. 90 seconds is hard to beat.)

Sautéed Veggies:

  • 2 bell peppers (one red, one yellow)
  • 1 medium Spanish onion
  • 2 medium zucchini
  • Baby carrots
  • Vegan Magic (See my eat page for info on this) + Salt (I kept this plain because I would be using the veggies differently and didn’t want conflicting spices.)

SauteedVeggies

 Raw Veggies:

  • Baby spinach
  • Baby carrots
  • Cucumber
  • Green onion
  • Olives

 Sauces (*Sauces I had good intentions to make, but didn’t…):

  • Lemon-Tahini
    • 2-3 Tablespoons tahini
    • Squeeze of lemon to taste
    • Warm water, added slowly to reach desired thickness
    • Add seasonings to taste, such as fresh garlic…
  • Thai Red Coconut Curry
    • In small saucepan bring to boil 4 teaspoons red curry paste and 1 165ml can of coconut milk
    • Simmer 5-7 minutes to reach desired thickness
    • Optionally add extra ginger or cilantro
  • Spicy Mayo
    • 1 Tablespoon vegan mayonnaise of choice
    • Sriracha to taste
    • Optionally, add a squeeze of lemon and cilantro paste
  • *Peanut Sauce
  • *Miso

I usually loaded my bowl with about 1 cup of my carb base, then added handfuls of spinach, and then veggies that matched well with the sauce I wanted to use. Some examples are:

Lemon Tahini Bowl

Baby potatoes with a lemon Tahini Sauce, topped with spinach, green onion, sliced olives and cucumber

ThaiCurryBowl.jpg

Bowtie pasta with a Thai red coconut curry sauce, with prepared sautéed vegetables and fresh spinach.

LunchFajitas.jpg

Lunchtime fajitas (above), or spicy rice bowl (below), topped with fresh spinach, sautéed vegetables, guacamole and spicy mayo.

MexicanRiceBowl

One thought on “Cook a Little, Eat a Lot – Here’s how it went

Leave a Reply

