Simple Sunday Meal

One of the main reasons I started this blog was because when I talked to people about food, cooking and eating, they would often tell me how difficult it must be to be a vegetarian or a vegan. I want to share this photo as another example of how easy it really is.

IMG_0736I ate the fresh from the garden tomato, cucumber, and cubanelle pepper with a few olives and a delightful basil seasoned hummus. I drizzled a little bit of olive oil over the veggies and then sprinkled on some of the magical garlic and herb spice available on hand and a little bit of pink Himalayan salt. To round it off as a real meal I add a couple of tortillas heated up in the toaster.

I do have to say something more about the tomato. This tomato ended up at around 1.3-1.4 pounds. It was grown by a loved one with seeds my father saved from an heirloom beefsteak tomato last summer. This was the first one picked off the plant!

One of my favourite images when taking an art history course in undergrad was this pepper by Edward Weston. I’m no Edward Weston, but I feel this tomato is equally photogenic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

