Easy Black Bean Soup

A couple of weeks ago I made a giant version of my simple lentil soup. I didn’t mean for it to be giant, and I had to eat so much of it over the week I was very much sick of it. This week I wanted to make a soup again, as it is one of those rainy Sundays that calls for soup and grilled cheese or something similar, but I didn’t want a tub of soup to haunt me all week. This is a small soup that makes probably about five 1-cup servings.

BlackBeanSoup.jpg

Easy Black Bean Soup

  • 1 teaspoon oil of your choice (I used Vegan Magic)
  • ½ cup of diced onion
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon cilantro paste
  • 1 540ml can of Aylmer Accents Diced Stewed Tomatoes, Chili Seasonings
  • 1 540ml can of black beans (I drained some of the liquid off the top, but not all. I reserved the liquid in case I want to add some more at the end.)
  • 2 1/2 Tablespoons of taco seasoning, or a 35 gram package (fajita seasoning will work just as well)
  • ½ teaspoon of cumin
  • ½ teaspoon of dried oregano

Heat medium/large saucepan on medium high and sauté onions for 3-4 minutes. Add garlic and sauté for an additional minute. Add cilantro paste followed by the can of stewed tomatoes. When tomatoes begin to boil add the black beans. Reduce heat and simmer covered for 10-15 minutes. Add taco seasoning, cumin, and oregano. Simmer for an additional 15-20 minutes.

At the end I like to use an immersion blender to make it a more creamy soup, but I don’t puree it. During this time you may wish to add some of the reserved liquid from the beans or a broth to help you reach the desired consistency for your meal.

I served this with a quesadilla made from a corn and green chile tortilla with Sheese faux cream cheese, and of course no surprise, some sriracha.

Leave a Reply

