Too-Rainy-To-Go-Out Quick Chickpea Thai Red Curry

Yesterday I had a meal plan and shopping list ready. I was going to shop, cook, and be ready for the week. The pouring rain had other ideas, so I ended up modifying things and making the one dish I could make from what was already in the house – a quick Thai curry.

ChickpeaCurry

Quick Chickpea Thai Red Curry

  • 1 teaspoon oil of choice
  • ½ medium onion
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon ginger paste
  • 2 Tablespoons Red Thai Curry Paste
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained
  • 3/4 cup butternut squash cut in small pieces (I used frozen)
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 teaspoon salt (to taste)

Sauté onion on medium heat. When it starts to get soft add garlic and ginger. Sauté one more minute. Add curry paste – watch out as it might pop around a little bit. Heat for another minute. Add chickpeas and butternut squash and stir to distribute seasoning. Add coconut milk and simmer for 10-15 minutes. Add salt to taste, and simmer for 10 more minutes as the coconut milk thickens. In the last few minutes I mash a little bit of the chickpeas and try to break up the butternut squash. The butternut squash adds a nice creamy thickness beyond the coconut milk.

I kind of forgot I was going to eat this with rice, and so I got started on it pretty much after the curry was cooked, but your best bet would be to get it started once you have the coconut milk in.

Next time I might add sautéed mushrooms or perhaps some zucchini.

Leave a Reply

