Soup is coming…Or the Udon I ate for breakfast this morning

I’m not really great with separating breakfast meals from other meals of the day, or maybe the other way around. My breakfast food paradigm includes pretty much everything except cold cereal. I’ve been known to make ravioli, poach an egg and put it on top and announce that it is “breakfast ravioli”. I don’t really eat eggs anymore, so I can’t even fake it that way anymore.

With the cooler weather coming in I’m starting to get that ridiculous “let’s eat soup all the time” feeling. My roommate may also have nicked a soup cookbook from a family member last week, so sometimes I just stand in the kitchen thinking about soup. I guess it shouldn’t be a surprise that when I woke up this morning I was in the mood for a noodle soup. I like noodle soups at breakfast mostly because they are kind of light, in that you have a flavourful broth and then your starch. It isn’t like eating a heavy pureed soup first thing in the morning (not that I wouldn’t). The other advantage is that you can make this in under 10 minutes. It would make a quick work-from-home lunch, or with the cooked noodles and veggies separated you could reheat the broth and and quickly assemble it at work too.

Here is the bowl waiting for the broth to finish heating:

IMG_1168.JPG

Let’s call it for now… 10 Minute Udon

  • 1 package of udon noodles per person (I’m in Canada and I buy these from President’s Choice because I like how they are packaged — one pack for each person kind of deal.)
  • 1 cup of veggie broth per person (I use this one from Pacifica because I can buy it in a set of 4 250ml containers meaning I don’t use part of a carton and then the rest dies slowly in the back of the fridge.)
  • ginger
  • pepper paste of some nature (I had harissa paste on hand)
  • fresh vegetables – in mine you’ll see ribbons of fresh kale and a tomato
  1. Cook the noodles according to package directions. With a little less than a minute left add any veggies that might need a little cooking. I put in my Kale to soften it.
  2. Drain noodles and veggies, place in bowl/s.
  3. With a little bit of oil in the bottom of your pot, sauté your ginger and pepper paste just for about 30 seconds.
  4. Add broth and bring to a boil.
  5. Arrange any other veggies you’d like with the noodles (this is when I added my tomato), and pour broth over top.
  6. Eat your breakfast, or lunch, or whatever meal you’re going to call this.

And the final product:

IMG_1174.JPG

Next time I’d like to pick up some tofu skin or something and have that on hand. Now that it is fall and I’m getting into soups and such again it is time to stock up.

One thought on “Soup is coming…Or the Udon I ate for breakfast this morning

Leave a Reply

