Tofu Scramble

Most of the tofu scramble recipes I find are actually quite different from the one I grew up on. They frequently use firm tofu that has been pressed and often have the addition of items like black salt to give them an eggy flavour. There is probably nothing wrong with making tofu scramble that way, but it just doesn’t do it for me.

The tofu scramble I grew up on uses medium firm tofu, often from the large tubs found in Chinese grocery stores. I imagine each one of the cubes found inside to be about the equivalent of an egg and a half for scramble size. This tofu was crumbled into a pan that had already started out with a little bit of oil, diced onion, and whatever favourite vegetable was on hand. As the tofu cooked, my parents would sprinkle a faux chicken bouillon powder over them, adding flavour and saltiness as well as a hint of yellow to make them look “eggy”. Anything outside of this version never seems quite right to me. The tofu curds come out like perfect restaurant-style soft-scrambled eggs.

IMG_1169.JPG

Here is a loose version of what I’ve photographed:

  • cooking oil of choice
  • 1 container of medium-firm tofu
  • 1/2 medium onion
  • 3 teaspoons McKay’s Chicken Seasoning (or other non-chicken boullion powder)
  • handful of fresh baby spinach

I start out sautéing the diced onion, and when it softens I add the tofu. As is releases liquid I sprinkle the seasoning on top. I add it teaspoon by teaspoon, tasting as I go so it doesn’t get to salty. When the extra liquid is drying up and everything is heated through I add the spinach leaves to wilt them. And voila! Tofu eggs. Delicious on their own, or served over hot buttered (margarined?) toast.

*There are some sesame (perilla) leaves making a guest appearance in this one since I had them on hand and I want to eat them on everything.

 

One thought on “Tofu Scramble

  1. Claude Bastien says:

    You could use turmeric to colour the tofu to make it appear more egg-like. That way you wouldn’t have to over salt it with veggie chicken seasoning to get the same effect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

