Spinach-Almond-Cheese(?) Filled Cannelloni

cannelloni4

This recipe starts out with the fact that I can’t follow instructions, and I’m kind of impatient sometimes. I found this cool almond feta recipe from Vegetarian Times a couple of weeks ago and got very excited about it. And then made it kind of wrong because I didn’t read the recipe properly and I didn’t want to wait to eat it by following all of their steps. But even with all of that it was delicious and amazing! Once I had the recipe I had kind of made up from my mishap, I read the comments and found other people had made similar mistakes and suggestions for turning this into other exciting things. I realized that it would make a good cheese bit for cannelloni. So, here goes my recipe/description of a plant-based cannelloni with spinach and almond-cheese?-something filling.cannelloni1

In a food processor (why did I not use this until like 2 months ago?) puree the following ingredients. I’ll show you where I added things…

1. First get this group going:

  • 1 bunch of basil
  • 4 tablespoons of olive oil (it was about 3 healthy glugs from my bottle)
  • ¼ cup chopped onion
  • 1 garlic clove roughly chopped
  • 1 teaspoon or so of rosemary (from our dried up plant…)

2. Once they are basically a pesto, add:

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1/8 cup lemon juice (this will be to taste, start with the 1/8 and then go from there. I tend to over lemon things and added more.)
  • ¼ cup of warm (not hot) water

3. After the almond flour is really well mixed in add:

  • 1/3-1/2 cup of cooked spinach (I used frozen and used about 6 of the tablespoon-sized nuggets) Do not squeeze out excess water.

4. You’re at the end now:

  • salt and pepper to taste

5. At this point you might want to add extra lemon or herbs and spices.

cannelloni2

6. Put a little bit of oil on the bottom of a baking dish and get the oven preheating to 350 degrees (follow the instructions on your pasta if it is different from mine).

7. Pour a little bit of tomato sauce into the bottom as well. You want a nice sauce cushion for the pasta to sit in.

8. I used a large-sized freezer bag as a piping tool and piped the filling into about 15 Oven Ready Cannelloni tubes (I used Italpasta), arranging them in my pan as I went.

9. I topped this with the remainder of my tomato sauce (not going to lie, I buy whatever is on sale). Remember that you need the cannelloni to be well-covered if you’re using the oven ready type. I buy thick pasta sauces, so I usually add about a ¼-1/3 cups of water on top to make sure there is enough liquid for the oven ready pasta to absorb.

10. This baked for 1 hour in the oven at 350 degrees and was absolutely delicious.

cannelloni3

 

Leave a Reply

