Chickpea Pancakes/Omelets

One of the meals I have trouble with eating plantbased is breakfast. I’m not completely opposed to things like smoothies, but I really much prefer hot and savoury breakfasts. I was first introduced to chickpea omelettes through a vegan food delivery service I was using during a busy time in my academic career. After having them I really wanted to learn how to make them. I ended up finding this great version from Oh She Glows, and kind of following the instructions.

chickpeanpancake2

My go-to version for everyday is a bit simpler, and I tend to make my pancakes a bit on the smaller size and then have 2-3 of them. The following recipe serves breakfast for two, and usually makes 5 pancakes.

 Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup chickpea flour
  • 1 teaspoon of faux chicken bouillon (I use McKay’s Chicken Seasoning)
  • ½-2/3 cups of water (this will become clear in the instructions)
  • assorted veggies chopped small or shredded
  • other herbs and spices to taste (sometimes I add a few shakes of a seasoning called garlic plus that includes garlic powder, parsley and a few other things)

chickpeapancake1

 Instructions:

  1. Chop up your veggies. The mix pictured is ½ of a small onion, 1/4 of a bell pepper, 1/3 of a zucchini, 1/8th cup of carrot,  and a handful of spinach.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.
  3. Start adding water to the dry ingredients and whisk together. What I find is that you need slightly less than a 1:1 ratio of water to flour. Start with ½ cup and then add little drips until your batter resembles regular pancake batter.
  4. Add chopped veggies and then let is sit for a moment while you heat a frying pan to medium heat. I use a little bit of oil on the bottom as you don’t want it to stick.
  5. They cook similar to pancakes; you’ll see a difference in the edges when it is ready to flip.

chickpeapancake4

We tend to eat these with ketchup or salsa, but guacamole or other condiments would probably be delicious as well.

chickpeapancake3

Leave a comment