The Soup I’m Making Like Every Week Now…

A few weeks ago I had this sudden urge to make soup like the one that used to get made by my Portuguese family. There was always some kind of green and some kind of bean in it. So I started googling, and I figured I’d better just start out with something like “Vegan Portuguese Soup”. And lo and behold I found this awesome recipe (a photo of my attempt below) from Rhea at The “V” Word.

soup2cv

Now the recipe there is optimistic seeming about how much soup I can eat in a week, so over the last few weeks of making it I’ve adapted it a little here and made it into more of a technique than a recipe.

The basics include:

  • 1 chopped onion
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 4 teaspoons or so of faux chicken bouillon powder (yes, I really do put this in pretty much everything)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes (the flavoured ones are nice)
  • 1 bunch of kale or similar green, the bulk of the stems removed and roughly chopped
  • 4 cups of water (or so)
  • Then I add one-two other items. For the Caldo Verde recipe from The “V” Word, I added potato and navy beans, the next week I added cooked wild rice, and this last week I added canned lentils and some leftover veggie meat. So something like that.

The photo below is the week I made it with wild rice (I also had a major grilled cheese addiction and went through a package of Field Roast’s CHAO cheese).

soup1

Instructions:

  1. Get your onions and garlic going with a little bit of oil.
  2. Add the bay leaves and the bouillon powder and toss them around.
  3. Stir-fry in your kale.
  4. When the kale starts to wilt, add the tomatoes, and any other add in like beans.
  5. Top this off with the 4 cups of water. My goal is to make sure everything in the pot is well covered, so sometimes I will add a little extra followed by a little bit more of the bouillon powder to even it out.
  6.  30 minutes or so of this simmering and you have a tasty pot of soup for the week. Sometimes I topped it with vegan sausage or almond feta just to make it different.

soup3

Leave a Reply

