Black Turtle Bean Soup – The Fast Version

As I think I’ve probably mentioned in every post I’ve made about the Instant Pot, one of the reasons I really wanted it was the ability to make beans quickly instead of buying canned. One of the things I really like to do with black beans is make soup or chilli. I’ve tried this recipe/technique out a couple of times and feel like it is together enough to share.

beansoup

This photo is from round one of the soup, as round two was devoured reallllly quickly.

First, I make my beans completely plain. This is because I make enough for more than one dish, and some of them are likely going to my dog for part of his meals. He is pretty into beans, and will do tricks for a single one. The amount that I make for soup is the equivalent of one cup of dry beans. I probably add more water than necessary, but I put 3 cups for every 1 cup of dry beans. I run this in my instant pot on the bean “more” setting which is about 40 minutes long.

While the beans are cooking, you can chop up your other ingredients. Or if you’re like me, play on your computer until the beans are done and realize you still haven’t chopped up your veggies. Whatever works best for you.

Once the beans are out and drained I just start right in on the pot without cleaning it. I put a little bit of olive oil on the bottom and hit sautée running the timer for 10 minutes. I add the following:

Onion – I use whatever I have on hand, you probably want the equivalent of one onion. I’ve been making mine with 3 medium “walking onions” straight from the garden, tops and all

Carrot – I use 3 medium carrots, and I tend of cut them in half-moon shapes unless the carrot gets quite big at the end.

Herbs – I have oregano in the garden so I add it. I also add cilantro when on hand.

At the very end, I add a 19-ounce can of chopped, seasoned tomatoes*, followed by 2-3 tablespoons of fake chicken boullion powder, and about 3/4 of the tomato can of water.

Make sure the bottom of the pan is deglazed by the tomato, close the lid, and go for 20 minutes on the soup function.

I usually give it a couple minutes of natural pressure release, and then slowly get it going and then quick release the rest of the steam.

* If you see any fresh salsa on sale at your grocery store, like the 30% reduced to clear kind of deal, this works great to make the soup instead of the canned tomatoes.

 

One thought on “Black Turtle Bean Soup – The Fast Version

Leave a Reply

